Published on January 13th, 2019 | by Justin G.

SKITZO Discography Due in February on Divebomb Records

Divebomb Records Announcement:

New Jersey progressive thrashers SKITZO formed from the ashes of a band called Prophecy in the mid-’80s. The initial lineup—Bill Buchan (guitar), Shaun College (bass), Chris Corley (guitar), and Brendan Farragher (drums)—wrote and rehearsed seven nights a week, constructing a catalog of complex instrumentals while searching for the right vocalist. That vocalist, George Gabriel, was finally secured in 1988/1989, and SKITZO officially set out to craft their own brand of dynamic, technically demanding music influenced by traditional and thrash metal, classical, jazz/fusion, etc.

The group’s debut three-song demo, 1990’s Progressive Psychosis, was recorded at Kajem Studios (Queensrÿche, Dream Theater, Metal Church, etc.) in Pennsylvania, and quickly achieved college radio support through WSOU and WDHA. Meanwhile, SKITZO remained focused on live performances (alongside the likes of Pantera, Type O Negative, Savatage, Brutal Truth, etc.) and nightly rehearsals—at times practicing in complete darkness for the added challenge!?

Five more songs were laid down in 1992 at Butterfield’s Recording Studios in New Jersey by Steve Evetts (Symphony X, The Dillinger Escape Plan, etc.), applying a crisper and more powerful sound to the band’s increasingly elaborate musicianship. Unfortunately, this incredible demo was never released. Despite having showcased for labels such as Megaforce and Epic, among others, SKITZO fell apart before they could pay off the final studio bill. The DATs literally collected dust on a shelf at Trax East Recording Studio for more than two decades…

Until now, as—more than 25 years after the fact—Divebomb Records shines a new light on SKITZO’s should-be-legendary discography. Completely remastered by Jamie King at The Basement Recording, the CD comes housed alongside a 20-page booklet jammed with photos, flyers, lyrics, and a retrospective interview with the band. For the fans, by the fans!

Apocrypha, Heretic, Annihilator and Cacophony

Limited edition CD – only 500 units pressed worldwide – digitally remastered – band supplied photos – full color 20 page booklet with new band notes

Steve Evetts Session – 1992
1. Staged
2. Born Again
3. Mother’s Revenge
4. Symmetrical
5. In Vain

Progressive Psychosis Demo – 1990
6. Progressive Psychosis
7. Too Late For Repentance
8. The Killer Instinct

Preview “Black And White” track here:

Pre-order here:

Tags: ,

About the Author

Back to Top ↑