2016 Reviews

Published on August 10th, 2016 | by Justin G.

Lord: What Tomorrow Brings

Australian heavy/power metal band Lord followed-up their epic 2013 release Digital Lies last year with What Tomorrow Brings, an EP that I don’t think anyone could have expected. It has six songs, but one of them is the epic 25+ minute title track, which is nothing short of phenomenal.

“What Tomorrow Brings” is essentially Lord’s “A Change of Seasons.” It’s a massive, conceptual song that you’d expect from a prog metal band like Haken or Seventh Wonder. Honestly, if you play this “blind” you’d probably never guess it was a Lord song. “What Tomorrow Brings” has a moving “storyline,” an unforgettable atmosphere and it draws you in so thoroughly that you never think about how long the song is.

“Haunted” is the other new song on What Tomorrow Brings, and it’s much more in line with the Lord sound, coming in fast, heavy and powerful. It’s a great headbanging follow-up to the more emotional title track.

The EP is rounded out by a series of covers, all of which are odd (and surprisingly effective) choices. We get The Police’s “Message in a Bottle,” a-Ha’s “The Sun Always Shines on TV,” “Playing to Win” by the Little River Band and Helloween’s “Someone’s Crying.”

What Tomorrow Brings is going to take a lot of people, even fans who already know how good Lord is, by surprise. The title track alone is well worth the price of admission, and is a song just about any fan of progressive and power metal needs to hear. It doesn’t hurt that the rest of the EP is so much fun either.


Lord: What Tomorrow Brings Justin G.
Album Rating

Summary: This is Lord's A Change of Seasons.


Tags: , , , , ,

About the Author

Back to Top ↑