Published on January 13th, 2019 | by Justin G.

313 THREE THIRTEEN Discography Due in February on Divebomb Records

Divebomb Records Announcement:

Around late-’83/early-’84, a group called Discipline took shape in Pittsburgh, PA; transitioning from playing covers into an original hard rock/metal outfit. Discipline laid down a two-song demo that gained local momentum via the Pittsburgh Steel radio show before disbanding in 1985, at which time the remaining members—founder Doug Appel (guitar), Mark Menold (guitar), and Ned Lyden (drums)—joined forces with two former members of another Pittsburgh act called Overlord—bassist David Kendrick and vocalist Tim Aymar (later of Pharaoh, Control Denied, Psycho Scream, Triple X, and many more)—and thus 313 was born.

By year’s end 1985, 313 had tracked a whopping 10 songs at Gamut Productions, achieving a striking balance between catchy, melodic hard rock and a heavier lean toward traditional metal. Continued writing, rehearsing, and gigging ensued, amidst which an aggressive, faster-paced drummer by the name of Kirk Henry entered the fold—aiding 313’s continued growth toward harder-edged metal. Finally, during the winter of 1987/1988, the group settled into Aircraft Recording Studios to complete what should have been their debut full-length album. Sadly, these would prove to be 313’s final sessions. After a failed contract with CBS-distributed PARC Records and a short-lived attempt to remain financially solvent as a cover act (operating under the name of Jet Screamer), mounting tensions within the lineup brought things to an end in 1988.

Now, just over 30 years later, Divebomb Records is thrilled to rescue this highly sought-after material from the depths of obscurity with a 20-song, near-complete discography from 313. Fully remastered by Jamie King at The Basement Recording, the disc’s booklet is packed with photographs, press clippings, ephemera, and a nine-page interview with the band. For the fans, by the fans!

Warrior, Sword, Omen, Icon and Malice

Limited edition CD – only 500 units pressed worldwide – digitally remastered – band supplied photos – full color 20 page booklet with new band notes

Gamut Sessions – 1985
1. Arrogance & Aggression
2. Suite 313
3. The Warrior
4. Shot In The Dark
5. Robbin’ The Cradle
6. Go Down Fighting
7. Survivor
8. Bone Soldiers
9. Black And White
10. Top Of The Night

Aircraft Sessions – 1987
11. Tonight We Fly
12. Vengeance Is Mine
13. Silence And Tears
14. Black And White
15. Robbin’ The Cradle
16. Gratitude
17. Tramontane
18. Pray For Me
19. The Warrior

Preview “Black And White” track here:

Pre-order here:

Tags: , ,

About the Author

Back to Top ↑